is well known for the many dairies that it helped to produce. Lordís Park has an indirect connection
with that part of the city's past. The land that Lordís Park now sits on was
originally a dairy farm owned by Phineas T. Smith and Dr. Joseph Tefft. On
February 12, 1852, Smith and Tefft shipped the first can of milk from their farm
to a hotel in Chicago. It wasnít long before other hotels and vendors began to
connect with Elgin dairies in order to fulfill their need for milk. Soon after
milkmen would be seen in trucks marked "Elgin Dairies".