Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Home
Schools & Churches
Elgin Academy
Elgin High School
Franklin School
1st. Congregationalist Church
St. Mary's Church
St. John Ev. Lutheran Church
Ev. Lutheran Church of Holy Spirit
Methodist Church
 Episcopal Church
Grant School
Buildings
Borden Library
City Hall
Cook Publishing
Brethren Publishing 
Dunham's Castle
Elk's Club
Ill. State Armory 
Home Bank Building
Professional Building
Post Office
Sears Academy
Selz Shoe Factory
Masonic Temple
H. Kind 
Bakery
Hubbard Block
McGraw 
Electric
Woolworth's
Cromwell Shoes
Judge Botsford's Residence
Fire Barn # 1
Fire Barn # 5
Elgin Eagle Beer
Hospitals
Sherman Hospital
Resthaven Sanitarium
St. Joseph's Hospital
Larkin Children's Hospital
Elgin State Hospital Annex
Old People's Home
Streets
Grove Ave.
Grove Ave 
at Nite.
North on Grove
Douglas Ave.
Chicago Street
Villa Street
Highland & Larkin Avenues
Modern Elgin
Grove Ave. (Mod)
Aerial View
Elgin Skyline
Greetings From Elgin
Greetings From Elgin (1975)

Grove Ave., Douglas Ave. & Chicago Street Intersection

When James Gifford originally laid out Elgin, his intention was for Center Street, the area above the often flooded lowland of the river, to be the hub of the city’s business district. That area, however soon became popular for the city’s vendors and stores began to spring up. In 1854, the city’s government was put into place and the intersection of the four square mile area was the intersection of East Chicago, Grove and Douglas Avenues. Farmers would bring their produce and livestock to sell, and soon this area became known as Market Square. Horses, however, need to be watered, so in 1873, a fountain was added and the area became known as Fountain Square.

Elgin was widely known for its dairies and butter production, and in 1898, The John Newman Company opened their offices in Fountain Square. Newman owned or controlled fifty two creameries, scattered throughout Northern Illinois, Eastern Iowa and Southern Wisconsin. It was reported that over 55,000 cows were pastured on more than 2,000 farms, which yielded over 500,000 quarts of Spring Brook Butter each day.

While it is uncertain when this card was printed, it certainly was before 1928, because the large red building in this photo is gone.  It was replaced by The Elgin Tower (also known as The Home Bank Building).  To learn more about Elgin's progress and see that same corner 10 or 15 years later, press here

     

Home
Fox River
Chgo St Bridge
Chgo Bridge at night
Kimball  Bridge
Walton Island
Pumping Station
Elgin Nat'l 
Watch Co.
West & Front Wing
Noon at Factory
The Main Entrance
National House
Elgin Watchmakers College
Il. Watch 
Case Factory
Eppenstein's Home
Observatory
N. Y. World's Fair
My Elgin's All Right
Parks
Gifford Park
Veteran Monument
Lord's Park
Scenic View
Upper Lake
Band Stand
Audubon Museum
Pavilion At Night
Pavilion in Wintertime
Bear Pit
Trout Park
Trout Park  Amusement Park
Sulfur  Springs
(Wing Park)
Pavilion,
Wing Park
Swimming Pool
Band Concert
(Wing Park)
Weldwood Country Club
Central Park
Bridge over Tyler Creek
Windmill on Aurora Elgin RR
Hotels
Kelley Hotel
Hotel Fosgate
Fox Hotel
Misc.
Dairy Cows
Interurban
 Hiawatha
Pageant
Other Elgins
Elgin, Texas
Elgin, Minnesota
Elgin Oregon
Elgin, Arizona