In addition to the gazebo and ponds is The Lord’s
Park Zoo. Established in 1896, the zoo originally included buffalo, elk,
deer, bears and a glass enclosure for a variety of birds. The first two
black bears, Jack and Juno, were quickly followed by two more, Frank and
Kitty. Custodian Davey Walker trained the bears to do a number of tricks
to amuse and fascinate the crowds.
In 1964, the Franzen family donated a lion to
the zoo that they used to use in a magic act. The park named the one –year-old
lion "Lord Spark". When he reached the zoo, he weighed 190
pounds. During his time at The Lord’s Park Zoo, he sired 19 cubs.
The bears were sold off to other zoos by 1969,
but the zoo still includes bison, deer and elk. The zoo is free of
charge and still attracts thousands of visitors each year.
- Thanks to Jeff Haag for point out a
pervious error. JPM