Park at Hose Co.
The last station built as a fire barn in Elgin was
Fire Station Number 5. It was on the triangular corners of St. Charles and
Arlington streets. Built in January of 1904, it included lead-lined windowpanes
and a trap door that was used to drop hay to the horses from the third floor.
Fire Barn 5 still stands at 533 St. Charles
Road. It has been recognized by The National
Register of Historic Places. It
serves as a fire safety museum and It
regularly welcomes visitors who are treated to their collection of vintage fire
trucks and fire fighting equipment. More information is available about Fire
Barn Number 5 at their web site.