many of Elgin's pioneers made their money through farming or the dairy industry,
William G. Hubbard made his fortune through the dry goods business. Hubbard, a
pioneer merchant, opened his building on the corner of Chicago and Douglas in
1851. It was there that he kept company with the best of the movers and shakers
that Elgin had to offer. One of Hubbard's original tenets was John Newman, owner
and operator of Springbrook Creameries, as well as the owner of over 500
dairies. His other tenets were many of the German enterprises of the day,
including Siedel's Bakery, Adler's clothing store and Pabst Chicago House.
original wooden building was destroyed in one of Elgin's worst fires ever, on
March 23, 1974. The fire shattered the glass windows across the street and
seared buildings blocks away. It would be replaced with a white brick building
that connected many other building on the block via the second and third floors.
The second building would come to be known as The Lawyers Building, which was
gutted by fire in 1979. It was torn down in 1980.