Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Home
Schools & Churches
Elgin Academy
Elgin High School
Franklin School
1st. Congregationalist Church
St. Mary's Church
St. John Ev. Lutheran Church
Ev. Lutheran Church of Holy Spirit
Methodist Church
 Episcopal Church
Grant School
Buildings
Borden Library
City Hall
Cook Publishing
Brethren Publishing 
Dunham's Castle
Elk's Club
Ill. State Armory 
Home Bank Building
Professional Building
Post Office
Sears Academy
Selz Shoe Factory
Masonic Temple
H. Kind 
Bakery
Hubbard Block
McGraw 
Electric
Woolworth's
Cromwell Shoes
Judge Botsford's Residence
Fire Barn # 1
Fire Barn # 5
Elgin Eagle Beer
Hospitals
Sherman Hospital
Resthaven Sanitarium
St. Joseph's Hospital
Larkin Children's Hospital
Elgin State Hospital Annex
Old People's Home
Streets
Grove Ave.
Grove Ave 
at Nite.
North on Grove
Douglas Ave.
Chicago Street
Villa Street
Highland & Larkin Avenues
Modern Elgin
Grove Ave. (Mod)
Aerial View
Elgin Skyline
Greetings From Elgin
Greetings From Elgin (1975)

Elgin Eagle Brewing 

In 1849, Charles Tazewell built a building on the west side of Kimball street near the Kimball street bridge, where he opened a brewery.  He would eventually sell it to German-born Casper Althen in 1868, who ran the business alone for many years.  In the early 1890's, his three sons, Louis, Emil and Edward would join him in the business.  Around that time, the business took on the name "Elgin Eagle Brewery".  

By 1891 the business was a full-time operation, and Althen employed 15 workers.  His brewery would produce between 5,000 and 6,000 barrels of beer a year, with "Casper's Superior" being one of the most popular.  

The Volstead Act (AKA Prohibition) would sound the death knell for Althen's business in 1920.  The sons would retool the operation and, for a short time,  distribute root beer, and ice cream.

The building was demolished in 1963, having been vacant for over 40 years.  It was reported as being one of Elgin's first landmarks.  

 

The story of The Elgin Eagle Brewing Company was commemorated by retired U-46 School Teacher and Former Mayor E. C. "Mike" Alft at the Elgin Area Historical Society's 18 Annual Cemetery walk.  More information (includng a video of Mr. Aft's presentation) is available about the Cemetery Walk at the Elgin Area Historical Society's Web site at: www.elginhistory.org  

 

      

Home
Fox River
Chgo St Bridge
Chgo Bridge at night
Kimball  Bridge
Walton Island
Pumping Station
Elgin Nat'l 
Watch Co.
West & Front Wing
Noon at Factory
The Main Entrance
National House
Elgin Watchmakers College
Il. Watch 
Case Factory
Eppenstein's Home
Observatory
N. Y. World's Fair
My Elgin's All Right
Parks
Gifford Park
Veteran Monument
Lord's Park
Scenic View
Upper Lake
Band Stand
Audubon Museum
Pavilion At Night
Pavilion in Wintertime
Bear Pit
Trout Park
Trout Park  Amusement Park
Sulfur  Springs
(Wing Park)
Pavilion,
Wing Park
Swimming Pool
Band Concert
(Wing Park)
Weldwood Country Club
Central Park
Bridge over Tyler Creek
Windmill on Aurora Elgin RR
Hotels
Kelley Hotel
Hotel Fosgate
Fox Hotel
Misc.
Dairy Cows
Interurban
 Hiawatha
Pageant
Other Elgins
Elgin, Texas
Elgin, Minnesota
Elgin Oregon
Elgin, Arizona