Old People's Home
After returning from a trip in the East, Julie
Peck (wife of department store owner George Peck) was very impressed by a
facility she had seen there that was used for care of the elderly. She
called upon the kindness of Elgin's leading philanthropist, George P.
Lord. Money and land were donated and in 1906, The Old People's Home was
opened. He would later donate the land for nearby Central Park, as
Later, the name was changed to the more
politically correct Oak Crest Residence. It still operates today under
that name. In 2000, a more aesthetically pleasing addition was added
to the northern wing.