Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Home
Schools & Churches
Elgin Academy
Elgin High School
Franklin School
1st. Congregationalist Church
St. Mary's Church
St. John Ev. Lutheran Church
Ev. Lutheran Church of Holy Spirit
Methodist Church
 Episcopal Church
Grant School
Buildings
Borden Library
City Hall
Cook Publishing
Brethren Publishing 
Dunham's Castle
Elk's Club
Ill. State Armory 
Home Bank Building
Professional Building
Post Office
Sears Academy
Selz Shoe Factory
Masonic Temple
H. Kind 
Bakery
Hubbard Block
McGraw 
Electric
Woolworth's
Cromwell Shoes
Judge Botsford's Residence
Fire Barn # 1
Fire Barn # 5
Elgin Eagle Beer
Hospitals
Sherman Hospital
Resthaven Sanitarium
St. Joseph's Hospital
Larkin Children's Hospital
Elgin State Hospital Annex
Old People's Home
Streets
Grove Ave.
Grove Ave 
at Nite.
North on Grove
Douglas Ave.
Chicago Street
Villa Street
Highland & Larkin Avenues
Modern Elgin
Grove Ave. (Mod)
Aerial View
Elgin Skyline
Greetings From Elgin
Greetings From Elgin (1975)

Larkin Children's Home

The Larkin Children's Home's history dates back to May of 1892. Mary Peabody was asked to care for 3-day old twins who lost their mother due to pneumonia.  Before long, Mary's generosity would be called on several more times, when two other children showed up on her door.  Between 1894 and 1895, her home became known as "The Miss Mary Peabody Home for Babies".  

Soon Mary's Liberty Street home would be prove to be too small for the new arrivals.  By June 22, 1896, an organization was formed called The Elgin Children's Home Association.  Their mission statement was to: "...care for and to provide for the wants of destitute, abused or neglected children under 14 years old...". That year, they moved to 685 E. Chicago Street.  They clearly distinguished themselves from an orphanage by calling themselves a "real home".  Their goal was for children to eventually go back to their parents, therefore uniting families, not separating them.

Around 1902, farmer Cyrus Larkin donated his 320 S. State Street  home to the center, if they agreed to rename themselves The Larkin Home for Children, in honor of his late mother. However, by 1912, their State Street location would no longer be adequate.  The home and 3 1/2 acres of land pictured above was donated by Mr. and Mrs. A. D. Edwards in 1926.

Today, The Larkin Center has seven group homes for severely abused and neglected children. A total of 60 children between the ages of 6 and 18 live in the various Larkin Center locations.

      

Home
Fox River
Chgo St Bridge
Chgo Bridge at night
Kimball  Bridge
Walton Island
Pumping Station
Elgin Nat'l 
Watch Co.
West & Front Wing
Noon at Factory
The Main Entrance
National House
Elgin Watchmakers College
Il. Watch 
Case Factory
Eppenstein's Home
Observatory
N. Y. World's Fair
My Elgin's All Right
Parks
Gifford Park
Veteran Monument
Lord's Park
Scenic View
Upper Lake
Band Stand
Audubon Museum
Pavilion At Night
Pavilion in Wintertime
Bear Pit
Trout Park
Trout Park  Amusement Park
Sulfur  Springs
(Wing Park)
Pavilion,
Wing Park
Swimming Pool
Band Concert
(Wing Park)
Weldwood Country Club
Central Park
Bridge over Tyler Creek
Windmill on Aurora Elgin RR
Hotels
Kelley Hotel
Hotel Fosgate
Fox Hotel
Misc.
Dairy Cows
Interurban
 Hiawatha
Pageant
Other Elgins
Elgin, Texas
Elgin, Minnesota
Elgin Oregon
Elgin, Arizona